comments 3

To Wander {My first visit to Edinburgh}

Edinburgh_June2014_14
The second I walked off the train, onto the platform at Waverley Station, I was in awe of this city. On my left stood the gloriously historical, hodge-podge skyline of Old Town, while the Georgian elegance of  New Town’s Princes Street sat neatly in contrast to my right.

Edinburgh_June2014_18
The architecture in Edinburgh is so varied and so wonderful. Even Waverley Station inspires! Here are some shots I took during my wanders around Old Town. The famous Victoria Street’s double layer,  curve and colours house a mixture of shops from books and nick-nacks to coffee and I spent a thoughtful couple of hours walking through Greyfriar’s Churchyard.

Edinburgh_June2014_26

The closes are tiny and one can get blissfully lost wandering off the Royal Mile and find gems like The Devil’s Advocate Pub, or the Writer’s Museum…

Edinburgh_June2014_17
Edinburgh_June2014_34
Edinburgh_June2014_27

I spent my first visit to Edinburgh without a smartphone, which in hindsight was a blessing in disguise. I allowed myself to get lost, but if I needed to, I turned to paper maps and actually used my noggin for a change. I really love the city’s abundance of coffee shops, galleries,  print shops, and bookshops. Creativity is everywhere and the temperamental weather, going from cloudy to warm and sunny in minutes, coupled with the lush greenery, cobbled streets and confused alleyways and striking architecture all together make me want to write, paint and photograph until the day is done. No wonder so many literary greats were based in this city.

Edinburgh_June2014_23

Edinburgh_June2014_19

Look up. This is so important whilst travelling. With heads down focused on phones or arbitrary conversation, we miss so much. Above you can see what I mean about the glorious hodge-podge. of buildings.

Edinburgh_June2014_15

Flowers hang from most pubs and many windows and as you can see, summer really does show off in the UK.

Edinburgh_June2014_22
Here you can see a good view of Scott’s Monument, and little Greyfriars Bobby. The inscription on this memorial says:

“A tribute to the affectionate fidelity of Greyfriars Bobby. In 1858 this faithful dog followed the remains of his master to Greyfriars Churchyard and lingered near the spot until his death in 1872, with permission erected by Baroness Burdett-Coutts.”


Edinburgh_June2014_30
Filament Coffee
on Victoria St makes a damn good flat white. The reading material is equally great. Hip, so very hip.  Delightfully reminiscent of Cape Town in many ways.

Edinburgh_June2014_12

It is said that the over 350 year old George Heriot’s School inspired J.K.Rowling’s Hogwarts.

Edinburgh_June2014_11

I saw this quote whilst walking, during my first night in Edinburgh. Rather fitting I must say. Too true Tolkien. Who cares if I was lost at the time?

Edinburgh_June2014_03
There’s something so delicious of being in a completely new place. Check in soon for more from my first visit to Scotland’s capital. Over and out.

3 Comments

  1. Granny Burton

    Hi Stacey grandpa and I are reveling in your pics and comments ,you have seen more than we ever did and bringing it all alive =—–so beautiful and varied spotted with your amazing eye. Keep up the good work and it will pay dividends especially while summer is there —-a different aspect will be forthcoming in winter—–her we have snow on the hottentots Holland glistening in sunshine today but after a miserable week-end love you lots granny and grandpa xxxxx

  2. lorief1

    Thoroughly enjoyed the photos! Would loved to have been there, as well!

  3. Candice

    So beautiful Stace. Longing to join you in your adventures my friend. Missing you but feeling so inspired after reading your post and seeing all your stunning photos. You are SO talented. Love you loads xxx

Leave a comment